Cannabis legislation in Greece

Ιn 2016, after 60 years of banning, cultivation of industrial cannabis in Greece started over once again.

In spring 2013, Greek Parliament voted for the legalization of cultivating certain varieties of industrial cannabis, Cannabis sativa L, as well as the production of raw hemp products. In particular, according to law 4139/2013 (Government Gazette 74/vol. Α’/20-03-2013), the raw harvested products resulting from the cultivation of cannabis varieties which belong in Cannabis Sativa L genre and are low in Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content, up to 0,2%, are legalized in Greece and are not included in drug lists.

The complementary, common ministerial decision concerning Ministers of Health and Finance (Government Gazette B, 929/2016), issued in spring 2016, defined the terms and conditions regarding cultivation of Cannabis sativa L varieties with Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content less than 0,2%.

Moreover, in spring 2018, Greek Parliament established law 4523/2018 (Government Gazette A 41/7-3-2018) according to which the production of final medicinal cannabis products is approved. In particular, law 4523/2018 allows to individuals as well as companies to cultivate, under certain criteria, Cannabis Sativa L varieties with Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) content above 0,2% so as to produce final medicinal cannabis products for state monopoly, patients and exports concerning medical purposes.

Cannabis legislation in Europe

European Union permits hemp cultivation, Cannabis Sativa, as long as the content of cultivated varieties in Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) is less than 0,2%.

Member states which have established hemp cultivation are required to enact control systems concerning the THC content of hemp varieties cultivated in order to ensure legitimacy and protect public health.

Inside European Union, 14 countries have decriminalized or legalized cannabis, mainly for medical purposes, or have announced legislative initiatives for the immediate future. Among these countries are Spain, Italy, Portugal, Czech Republic, Finland, Norway, Denmark, Netherlands, France and Romania.

Three member states of European Union, France, Romania and Poland, included cannabis in the eligible sectors regarding the voluntary support scheme. In particular, France will allocate € 1,7 million per year to cannabis production while Poland will allocate € 0,66 million per year to cannabis and flax production.